Many people are hurting because of an act of violence committed against them.  Anyone – men, women, and children may be affected by violence.  Our children are subjected to neglect, physical, emotional and sexual abuse. Research shows as many as 1 in 4 girls will be victims of sexual abuse by the time they are 18-years-old. For boys, the number is 1 in 6. Often the abuse is a “family secret” passed from one generation to another.

There is hope and restoration at the Advocacy Center.The Advocacy Center for Crime Victims and Children began in 1976 as the Waco Rape Crisis Center. It has grown into an umbrella agency with three programs, the Children’s Advocacy Center (CAC),
The Victims Center, and Prevention and Education
 – offering many services to the hurting in our community.\

 

Over the past year the Advocacy Center for Crime Victims and Children has:

Conducted 569 developmentally sensitive and legally sound forensic interviews for children ages 2-17
Responded to 386 crisis hotline calls
Performed 190 sexual assault medical exams of children and adults in the Central Texas region
Provided direct counseling and advocacy services to 490 primary and secondary victims of crime
Presented 630 prevention related programs to more than 14,410 community members

 

2015-2016 Advocacy Center Board of Directors

Taina Maya – President Jamie Goble – Vice President Beth Badeaux- Secretary David Dumas – Treasurer
Danika Morefield Angelia Orr Bricker Bruner John Kolinek
Natalie Morphew Robert Lanning Abel Reyna Kathy Weishuhn
Joseph Scaramucci Richard Wallace Morgan Wiatrek William Roy DeFriend

 

Our Staff

[/trow]
Staff Member Title Email Extension
Barbara Wright Executive Director bwright@advocacycntr.org x110
Della Hodge Administrative Assistant adminsupport@advocacycntr.org x111
Dr. Kerry Burkley CAC Program Director kburkley@advocacycntr.org x101
Melissa Yeilding Forensic Interviewer myeilding@advocacycntr.org x105
Kristi Skains Forensic Interviewer kskains@advocacycntr.org
Judy Chambers CAC Victim Services Specialist jchambers@advocacycntr.org
Heydi Vasquez Forensic Interviewer hvasquez@advocacycntr.org x100
Dr. Soo Battle Child Sexual Abuse Examiner sbattle@advocacycntr.org
Dr. Ann Sims Medical Advisor asims@advocacycntr.org x123
Michelle Davis Victims Center Clinical Director mdavis@advocacycntr.org x115
Patsy Buckner Case Manager Coordinator pbuckner@advocacycntr.org x114
Shanta Williams Family/Sexual Advocate swilliams@advocacycntr.org x121
Brandi Castillo Sexual Assault Advocate bcastillo@advocacycntr.org x103
Sam Stanley Sexual Assault Advocate sstanley@advocacycntr.org
Samantha Simpson Sexual Assault Advocate ssimpson@advocacycntr.org
Chad Harrod Intake Specialist charrod@advocacycntr.org
Laura Downing Client Service Specialist/Case Manager ldowning@advocacycntr.org
Doug Cummins Therapist dcummins@advocacycntr.org x116
Colby Walters Therapist cwalters@advocacycntr.org x120
Kasey Shaw Counselor kshaw@advocacycntr.org x141
Aliegh Ascherl Primary Prevention Coordinator aascherl@advocacycntr.org x118
Michele Davis SANE Coordinator  sane@advocacycntr.org
Nikki Rhea Marketing and Development nrhea@advocacycntr.org
Sarah Hopping Prevention and Education shopping@advocacycntr.org
Lucila Limones Prevention and Education llimones@advocacycntr.org
Carolyn Pierce Grants Manager cpierce@advocacycntr.org
buy online deltasone