CRISIS HOTLINE available 24/7. Call toll free: (888) 867-7233. Se Habla Español.

ABOUT

Many people are hurting because of an act of violence committed against them.  Anyone – men, women, and children may be affected by violence.  Our children are subjected to neglect, physical, emotional and sexual abuse. Research shows as many as 1 in 4 girls will be victims of sexual abuse by the time they are 18-years-old. For boys, the number is 1 in 6. Often the abuse is a “family secret” passed from one generation to another.

There is hope and restoration at the Advocacy Center.The Advocacy Center for Crime Victims and Children began in 1976 as the Waco Rape Crisis Center. It has grown into an umbrella agency with three programs, the Children’s Advocacy Center (CAC),
The Victims Center, and Prevention and Education
 – offering many services to the hurting in our community.

Over the past year the Advocacy Center for Crime Victims and Children has:

Conducted 569 developmentally sensitive and legally sound forensic interviews for children ages 2-17
Responded to 386 crisis hotline calls
Performed 190 sexual assault medical exams of children and adults in the Central Texas region
Provided direct counseling and advocacy services to 490 primary and secondary victims of crime
Presented 630 prevention related programs to more than 14,410 community members

2018-2019 ADVOCACY CENTER BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Taina Maya – President Morgan Wiatrek- Secretary
Sheila Brown Bricker Bruner Mark Childers William Roy De Friend
Jamie Goble Robert Lanning Abel Reyna Sarah Hopkins-McCormick
Joseph Scaramucci Richard Wallace John Kolinek Danika Morefield
Natalie Morphew Kathy Sorensen Nikki Rhea

OUR STAFF

Staff MemberTitleEmailExtension
Barbara WrightExecutive Directorbwright@advocacycntr.orgx110
Della HodgeOperations/Administrative Manageradminsupport@advocacycntr.orgx111
Dr. Kerry BurkleyCAC Program Directorkburkley@advocacycntr.orgx101
Heather FillmoreForensic Interviewerlfillmore@advocacycntr.orgx105
Kristi SkainsForensic Interviewerkskains@advocacycntr.org
Judy ChambersCAC Victims Services Specialistjchambers@advocacycntr.org
Sonya VasquezSexual Assault Advocatesvasquez@advocacycntr.orgx126
Dr. Soo BattleMedical Advisor/Pediatric Examinersbattle@advocacycntr.orgx104
Michelle DavisVictims Center Clinical Directormdavis@advocacycntr.orgx115
Patsy BucknerFamily Advocatepbuckner@advocacycntr.orgx114
Shanta WilliamsCounselorswilliams@advocacycntr.orgx129
Alana ArndtCounseloraarndt@advocacycntr.orgx103
Samantha SimpsonCounselorssimpson@advocacycntr.orgx128
Laura DowningCase Manager / Counselorldowning@advocacycntr.orgx109
Doug CumminsCounselordcummins@advocacycntr.orgx116
Colby WaltersCounselorclwalters@advocacycntr.orgx120
Aliegh AscherlPrevention Education Coordinatoraaleigh@advocacycntr.orgx118
Michele DavisSexual Assault Forensic Examiner Coordinatorsane@advocacycntr.org
Nikki RheaDevelopment Specialistnrhea@advocacycntr.orgx127
Sarah HoppingHotline Coordinatorshopping@advocacycntr.orgx121
Lucila LimonesCAC Case Managerllimones@advocacycntr.orgx113
Lucero AguilarCounseloralucero@advocacycntr.orgx213
Emily MillicanPrevention Educatoremillican@advocacycntr.orgx108
Ashley CassellClient Servicesbcastillo@advocacycntr.orgx100
Heydi McKinneyForensic Interviewerhmckinney@advocacycntr.orgx106
Mickie DyeSexual Assault Forensic Examinermdye@advocacycntr.orgx123
Heather LewisCAC Case Managerllewis@advocacycntr.orgx107
Carol HarperGrants Coordinatorcharper@advocacycntr.orgx112
Tarissa KlanderSexual Assault Advocatetklander@advocacycntr.orgx117