ABOUT

Many people are hurting because of an act of violence committed against them.  Anyone – men, women, and children may be affected by violence.  Our children are subjected to neglect, physical, emotional and sexual abuse. Research shows as many as 1 in 4 girls will be victims of sexual abuse by the time they are 18-years-old. For boys, the number is 1 in 6. Often the abuse is a “family secret” passed from one generation to another.

There is hope and restoration at the Advocacy Center.The Advocacy Center for Crime Victims and Children began in 1976 as the Waco Rape Crisis Center. It has grown into an umbrella agency with three programs, the Children’s Advocacy Center (CAC),
The Victims Center, and Prevention and Education
 – offering many services to the hurting in our community.

Over the past year the Advocacy Center for Crime Victims and Children has:

Conducted 452 developmentally sensitive and legally sound forensic interviews for children ages 2-17
Responded to 386 crisis hotline calls
Performed 241 sexual assault medical exams of children and adults in the Central Texas region
Provided direct counseling and advocacy services to 3,622 primary and secondary victims of crime
Presented 1,500 prevention related programs to more than 10,250 community members

2019-2020 ADVOCACY CENTER BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Mark Childers – President Danika Morefield - Vice President Kristy Donaldson- Secretary Kathy Sorensen - Treasurer
Sheila Brown Bricker Bruner Morgan Wiatrek William Roy De Friend
Lindsay Bawduniak Robert Lanning Michaela (Miki) Alvarado Sarah Hopkins-McCormick
Joseph Scaramucci Richard Wallace

Barry Johnson

Natalie Derrick
Nicole Herring Larry Lynch

OUR STAFF

Staff MemberTitleEmailExtension
Barbara WrightExecutive Directorbwright@advocacycntr.orgx110
Della HodgeOperations/Administrative Manageradminsupport@advocacycntr.orgx111
Dr. Kerry BurkleyCAC Program Directorkburkley@advocacycntr.orgx101
Heather FillmoreForensic Interviewerlfillmore@advocacycntr.orgx105
Kristi SkainsForensic Interviewerkskains@advocacycntr.org
Judy ChambersCAC Victims Services Specialistjchambers@advocacycntr.org
Dr. Soo BattleMedical Advisor/Pediatric Examinersbattle@advocacycntr.orgx104
Michelle DavisVictims Center Clinical Directormdavis@advocacycntr.orgx115
Patsy BucknerFamily Advocatepbuckner@advocacycntr.orgx114
Samantha SimpsonCounselorssimpson@advocacycntr.orgx128
Laura DowningCase Manager / Counselorldowning@advocacycntr.orgx109
Doug CumminsCounselordcummins@advocacycntr.orgx116
Dr. Colby WaltersCounselorclwalters@advocacycntr.orgx120
Aleigh AscherlPrevention & Education Directoraascherl@advocacycntr.orgx118
Michele DavisSexual Assault Forensic Examiner Coordinatorsane@advocacycntr.org
Alison SorleyDevelopment Specialistasorley@advocacycntr.orgx127
Sarah HoppingCrisis Hotline Coordinatorshopping@advocacycntr.orgx121
Lucila LimonesCAC Case Managerllimones@advocacycntr.orgx113
Lucero AguilarCounselorlaguilar@advocacycntr.orgx213
Ashley CassellClient Services Specialistacassell@advocacycntr.orgx100
Heydi McKinneyForensic Interviewerhmckinney@advocacycntr.orgx106
Mickie DyeSexual Assault Forensic Examiner Administrative Assistantmdye@advocacycntr.orgx123
Heather LewisCAC Case Managerllewis@advocacycntr.orgx107
Carol HarperGrants Coordinatorcharper@advocacycntr.orgx112
Tarissa KlanderCrisis Hotline Supervisortklander@advocacycntr.orgx117
Ida ParmerCAC Intake Specialistiparmer@advocacycntr.org
Tammy NicholesCounselortnicholes@advocacycntr.orgx124
Katie ValenzuelaPrevention Educatorkvalenzuela@advocacycntr.orgx108
Blythe WaldbilligPrevention Educatorbwaldbillig@advocacycntr.orgx108