ABOUT

Many people are hurting because of an act of violence committed against them.  Anyone – men, women, and children may be affected by violence.  Our children are subjected to neglect, physical, emotional and sexual abuse. Research shows as many as 1 in 4 girls will be victims of sexual abuse by the time they are 18-years-old. For boys, the number is 1 in 6. Often the abuse is a “family secret” passed from one generation to another.

There is hope and restoration at the Advocacy Center.The Advocacy Center for Crime Victims and Children began in 1976 as the Waco Rape Crisis Center. It has grown into an umbrella agency with three programs, the Children’s Advocacy Center (CAC),
The Victims Center, and Prevention and Education
 – offering many services to the hurting in our community.

Over the past year the Advocacy Center for Crime Victims and Children has:

89 FORENSIC MEDICAL EXAMINATIONS and 566 FORENSIC INTERVIEWS provided
at the Center of children 17 and under that have made an outcry of abuse, if abuse is
suspected or if the child has witnessed a crime.

53 NON-OFFENDING PARENTS attended Family Forward and Learning initiatives
Following Trauma groups. This number is lower than usual due to COVID-19.

695 RESPONSES TO THE 24/7 CRISIS HOTLINE

210 OF THE 695 crisis hotline calls resulted in Advocates going to Waco hospitals, of
which . . .

159 FORENSIC MEDICAL EXAMINATIONS were performed by a Sexual Assault Forensic
Examiner.

1,134 PRIMARY AND SECONDARY VICTIMS OF CRIME received direct counseling
and advocacy services.

102 PREVENTION RELATED PROGRAMS were presented by Prevention and Education
staff to 646 ATTENDEES.

435 MEDIA POSTS with 94,481 VIEWS/ENGAGEMENTS. Staff began a
podcast, provided both virtual and physical resources for families, provided book and movie
discussion materials around various topics and created videos that have over 1,200 views.

2021-2022 ADVOCACY CENTER BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Bricker Bruner - President Richard Wallace - Vice President Michaela (Miki) Alvarado - Secretary Al Childs - Treasurer
Dr. Bosi Amoro Lindsay Bawduniak

Kristy Donaldson

Robert Garmon

Frank Gentsch

Dr. Shannon Hankhouse

Tammy Harralson

Sarah Hopkins –McCormack

Barry Johnson

Kristin Kaye

Danika Morefield

Joseph Scaramucci

Barrett Thomas

OUR STAFF

Staff Member Title Email Extension
Barbara WrightExecutive Directorbwright@advocacycntr.orgx110
Katie LauderdaleOperations/Administrative Manageradminsupport@advocacycntr.orgx111
Dr. Kerry BurkleyCAC Program Directorkburkley@advocacycntr.orgx101
Heather FillmoreForensic Interviewerhfillmore@advocacycntr.orgx105
Kristi SkainsForensic Interviewerkskains@advocacycntr.org
Dr. Soo BattleMedical Advisor/Pediatric Examinersbattle@advocacycntr.orgx104
Michelle DavisVictims Center Clinical Directormdavis@advocacycntr.orgx115
Patsy BucknerFamily Advocatepbuckner@advocacycntr.orgx114
Samantha SimpsonCounselorssimpson@advocacycntr.orgx128
Laura DowningCase Manager / Counselorldowning@advocacycntr.orgx109
Doug CumminsCounselordcummins@advocacycntr.orgx116
Dr. Colby WaltersCounselorclwalters@advocacycntr.orgx120
Aleigh AscherlPrevention & Education Directoraascherl@advocacycntr.orgx118
Michele DavisSexual Assault Forensic Examiner Coordinatorsane@advocacycntr.org
Alison SorleyDevelopment Specialistasorley@advocacycntr.orgx127
Sarah HoppingCrisis Hotline Coordinatorshopping@advocacycntr.orgx121
Ashley CassellCAC Intake Specialistacassell@advocacycntr.orgx103
Heydi McKinneyForensic Interviewerhmckinney@advocacycntr.orgx106
Mickie DyeSexual Assault Forensic Examiner Administrative Assistantmdye@advocacycntr.orgx123
Heather LewisCAC Case Managerllewis@advocacycntr.orgx107
Tarissa KlanderCrisis Hotline Supervisortklander@advocacycntr.orgx117
Ida ParmerCAC Intake Specialistiparmer@advocacycntr.org
Tammy NicholesCounselortnicholes@advocacycntr.orgx124
Blythe WaldbilligPrevention Educatorbwaldbillig@advocacycntr.orgx108
Sonya VasquezForensic Interviewersvasquez@advocacycntr.orgx113
Cheryl HelmsGrant Coordinatorchelms@advocacycntr.orgx127
Alyson RadkeCrisis Hotline Supervisor- Case Manager
Amy DerrickCrisis Hotline Supervisor- Case Manager